St. Matthias the Apostle Parish began on April 24, 1959. Rev. Robert Verbeke, the founding pastor celebrated the first Mass that year in the Mehlville High School’s gym. A year later, St. Matthias School opened in September 1960. Since our beginning a great many other events have marked our parish history. For almost 50 years, the families of St. Matthias Parish have shared weddings, funerals, First Communions, Confirmations, baseball, and soccer games, special feast days, happy memories as well as sad farewells. It is our hope and prayer that the families of this parish will continue to celebrate these events for many years to come.

On July 1st 2005, St. Matthias the Apostle School and St Francis of Assisi School merged to insure members of both parishes with school aged children the ongoing opportunity to obtain a Catholic education.

Since the founding of St. Matthias the Apostle Parish six priests have served in the office of pastor:

1959-1967            Rev. Robert Verbeke                                                                                 

1967-1972            Rev. Jeremiah Callahan

1972-1981            Rev. Robert Argent

1981-1993            Rev. Glennon Goellner

1993-2007            Rev. William Kester

2007-Present        Rev. Dennis Port 

Since the founding of the parish fifteen priests have served in the office/role of Parocial Vicar:  Rev. Edward Fick, Rev. Richard Creason, Rev. John Mahoney, Rev. Donald Neuner, Rev. Paul Spielman, Rev. Thomas Robertson, Rev. James Krings, Rev. James Foster, Rev. Carl Scheble, Rev. Frank D'Amico, Rev. Dennis Zacheis, Rev. Dennis Schmitt, Rev. Robert Burkemper, Rev. Didacus Dunn OFM, Cap., and Fr. Eugene Selzer. 

Six men have assisted the pastor as Permanent Deacons: Deacon Keith Weber, Deacon Martin Towey, Deacon John Smith, Deacon Gary Kuenz, Deacon Joseph Hercules, and our current Deacon, Charles Bacher. 

Several Orders of Sisters have served our parish through the years. We currently have four Sisters of the Salesian Missionaries of Mary Immaculate serving the parish. They are: 

  • Sister Jolly Joseph
  • Sister Annie John
  • Sister Elsy Joyce
  • Sister Prathibha